Conversation with Vahan Karian about the Accounting Aid Society, Part 2

Q: Are there other interesting or important programs the Society offers?

A: The Society offers the only comprehensive Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) training and certification program with classes covering federal, state, and local taxes. Individuals are provided with personalized instruction in the preparation of taxes and receive hands-on computer training in the use of tax preparation software. This really empowers people, leads them to become independent regarding their own tax preparation, and may even prompt them to pursue accounting or business as a career.

Q: Is there anything else you would like to share with us about the Society and your experiences with it?

A: I had a wonderful mentor in my own father, and I recognize the importance of having that good role model in my own success. I think that we all need a guide to get us started toward self-reliance. Other than a serious health problem, there is nothing more demoralizing than financial worry, and I think the Accounting Aid Society goes a long way toward relieving that stress for many people. Many of the resources at the Accounting Aid Society empower people to help themselves, and I appreciate that. Finally, I was fortunate to receive a wonderful education and develop many useful skills over the course of my career. I enjoy sharing my expertise and giving back to my community in the very tangible way that the Accounting Aid Society allows me to do.

Read more about Vahan Karian

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

